Beaupre Cottage & Farm
Established in the mid 1800s, Beaupre Farm is situated in what was once the heart of the apple growing district of Tasmania. Over the years the farm has been a fruit, vegetable and flower orchard and at one time a pig farm. Our main homestead was built in 1905. The farm continues to grow its own produce for domestic use and in December 2019 will become the only registered Boer Goat breeder in Southern Tasmania. Beaupre aligns with our passion for a paddock to plate experience, sustainable farming practices and conserving our diverse and fragile ecosystems for future generations.
Living abroad for most of our lives has taken us outside our comfort zone, provided many opportunities to grow and allowed us to develop an immense appreciation and respect for the life and customs of another’s culture. We thought returning to our home country would be a difficult transition. We were very fortunate to have found a location and community which is as overwhelmingly welcoming as the landscape is beautiful. This is a place where we could feel most like ourselves. During your stay at Beaupre Farm, our desire is for you too, to also feel, most like yourself in an environment which offers a rich experience not just accommodation.
Chris, Colin and Kate look forward to welcoming you to share our perfect piece of paradise in Southern Tasmania.
Beaupre Farm’s commanding view over Beaupre Peninsula was named after C.F. Beautemps-Beaupre, the father of modern hydrography who produced the first maps of this area. In 1791, he departed Brest in France with the crew of Rear Admiral Bruni D’Entrecasteaux aboard the Recherche and the Esperance in search of the Laperouse expedition which had mysteriously disappeared in 1778 following their brief stay at Botany Bay with England’s first fleet to Australia. European history would have been significantly altered had a young 16 year-old Corsican by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte been selected from the preliminary list of mariners destined to sail on this fateful voyage. Jules Verne devoted a chapter about the disastrous La Perouse expedition in his novel ‘Twenty Thousand League Under the Sea’ (available in the cottage library).
Another important objective of the D’Entrecasteaux expedition was to chart unknown coastlines. In April 1792, the expedition landed at what is now Southern Tasmania’s Recherche Bay. During their stay, Beaupre mapped using his new international standards, the beautiful waterways and estuaries of the area including the Huon River, D’Entrecasteaux Channel and Bruny Island. Beaupre’s techniques were so relevant to nineteenth century maritime surveying that in 1823, his published account was translated into English (also available in the cottage library). The cottage has reproductions of Beaupre’s regional maps alongside original artworks by local artists.
Ship building was established in Port Cygnet by the Wilson family in 1863 and the story of the Port Cygnet shipwrights and their boats can be found in the cottage library. The first Cygnet Regatta was also held in 1863 at Beaupre when the property was then owned by Captain Gourlay who operated the first steamer in the area.